K-POP / KOREAN CULTURE / MUSIC VIDEOS / REVIEWS

[Review] ‘Aing ♡’ by Orange Caramel

Just when I thought frilly fairy tales were dying down in pop culture, Orange Caramel decides to frolic their way into Kpop with some of the most annoying music I’ve heard all year.  I admit, I cut them lots of slack with “Magic Girl” for tapping into a style that was non-existent in Korean pop music this year, but now that they’re back with a song IDENTICAL to their previous single, I’m contemplating taking back all of that slack and instead hang myself before I have to endure a second more of “Aing“.

Sub-unit Orange Caramel is taking one of After School‘s talented members Raina and making a complete mockery out of her by placing her with two bimbos and forcing a ridiculous concept down her throat.

“Aing” is a dated song that does zero justice to the ladies and goes as far as making them sound excruciatingly annoying.  “Magic Girl” had already done so, a round of seconds is definitely pushing it.

It’s a case of ‘IU and the Big Marshmallow‘.  What Pledis should have done is debuted the second sub-unit of After School OR, even better, allowed leader Gahee to unleash some pwnage on Kpop because we all know she will…eventually.

Until then, you guys enjoy the MV to “Aing” – at least it does a good job of matching the ghastly concept of the group to a visual world of Crazy.

Thoughts?

7 thoughts on “[Review] ‘Aing ♡’ by Orange Caramel

  1. “I admit, I cut them lots of slack with “Magic Girl” for tapping into a style that was non-existent in Korean pop music this year, but now that they’re back with a song IDENTICAL to their previous single, I’m contemplating taking back all of that slack and instead hang myself before I have to endure a second more of “Aing“.”

    LOLz McRoth’s rant posts are back and in full force!

    I don’t have anything to disagree with. I think this song is proof of just how far the k-pop industry is willing to push the cute concept – too far. I do like that this song isn’t as catchy as “Magic Girl” – by God’s grace I won’t have to endure numerous awful parodies again.

    Also, I can’t help but wonder exactly what audience they think they’ll be able to capture with this, especially as it’s simply redoing a concept that has already had it’s time. The video seems aimed at a younger audience (except for the bits where Nana’s doing her best “come hither” rawr) but the girls themselves are clearly dolled up for the benefit of the ahjussis. Yet neither group (I hope) will be able to handle them pumping of huge balls of cotton candy into their eardrums.

  2. They look absolutely ridiculous. Whose idea was this concept? Yikes, I just wonder how they feel performing on stage in those ghastly costumes. I haven’t listened to anything from Orange Caramel and I’m not about to start any time soon.

  3. OMG thank you! I saw you had reviewed this and thought OH NO! He’s gone over to the dark side! THANK YOU for not liking this cray-cray ness. They should go to Japan with that nonsense.

  4. i completely agree.

    i cant stand this song at all. what kind of drug pledis is taking for making RAINA do this! she’s one hell of a vocalist, can’t they make use of that? this is completely the thing i hated the most in ASIAN music.! when kpop started somewhat evolving, boy, was i glad, and then they throw this nonsense up to my face watching music core. ridiculous.

  5. I actually really like this song… the breakdown is really tight. And so what it’s cute? The music itself is actually quite powerful.

What is your opinion?

