K-POP / KOREAN CULTURE / MUSIC VIDEOS

[FULL MV] ‘Don’t Stop the Music’ by 2NE1

2NE1 are at it again, guys.  They’ve just released this colorful music video to the song “Don’t Stop The Music“, a promo song for some Thai scooter for women.

It pains me to say this, but I’m not feeling much of anything here.  When I first heard this song, I had nothing offensive to say about it, but at the same time, I had nothing relatively great to say, either.  It’s a so-so song, even after lowering my standard for the girls this year.  I really don’t get why in all hell people keep insisting to over-process the crap out of CL.  I mean, sure, she’s not the strongest singer in history, but if you strip all processing and just hear her rap and sing, it’s quite something.  It’s the energy and swag that sets her and this group apart, so hearing it literally sinking in the predictable muddiness that is going on here is head-numbingly frustrating.

At this point, I can hear how far up Will.I.Am‘s ass the entire YG production team is and I really don’t need 2NE1 forced to eat the shit from that man’s filthy hands any longer.  Plus, after listening to T.O.P. and G-Dragon‘s performance at this year’s MAMAs (which was all kinds of awesome), I’m fine with gently placing this song in the ‘dnw files’ for now and commence to shaking and crying for Big Bang‘s comeback.

On the up side, the styling is right on the money in this MV.  I enjoy seeing them fierce one second and absolutely adorable the next. They’re a sight to behold and a joy to experience.  Now, if only I could find my ear plugs…

One thought on “[FULL MV] ‘Don’t Stop the Music’ by 2NE1

  1. I agree, this would have been at least ten times better without the autotune, they don’t need it at all.
    However, I still enjoyed this song, and the video is amazing as always. :D

What is your opinion?

