J-POP / MUSIC VIDEOS

[Full MV] “Go Away” by 2NE1 (Japanese Version)

2NE1 is back! This time with the Japanese version of their 2010 single “Go Away“. Check out the full MV below!



MV Commentary:
I know I’m not the only one who thinks it looks like someone literally regurgitated the color wheel all over these girls. But when does it not, right?

Unlike the Korean version, this one doesn’t have a real story line. Instead, the girls are fucking around in what I think is a club, as well as in a very florescent house. To no one’s surprise, 2NE1 are over accessorized again. It’s like they have indecisive kids as their stylists. But it doesn’t matter, because this is 2NE1 and they will do whatever the hell they want, even if they look completely ridiculous half the time they’re on screen.

I will say that if any girl group can pull off a hot-mess of a look, it’s 2NE1. I look at them more as characters rather than normal people, so in that sense I guess that’s why all of the weird aesthetic choices paired with their grating music blend so well together.

Is it a little try-hard? Yeah, just a bit.

Thoughts?

5 thoughts on “[Full MV] “Go Away” by 2NE1 (Japanese Version)

  1. I tried watching this MV, but I had to stop after less than a minute because I got a slight headache. *Sigh*

    Dear 2NE1: There’s nothing wrong with not having a unified theme. Big Bang is a good example, not Teletubbies or Yo Gabba Gabba. I want to like all your songs – but the MV for this one is just too hard to watch because of the colors. Sincerely, Young BlackJack.

  2. The video is almost Jpop style if you ask me so it fits Japan. It just doesnt fit old Blackjack’s view of 2NE1. Their acting- it seems forced if anything (i.e. all the finger wagging and heart shapes). I’d say the only highlights were them bursting into Bom’s shower room and CL saying “shit” (classic).

    • If your comment is directed to the dead video link, I just updated it.

      If it’s directed to the actual fuckery of the MV, I share your sentiment. Shit is a mess.

What is your opinion?

