K-POP / REVIEWS

[Review][Single] Super Junior’s Donghae & Eunhyuk – “OPPA, OPPA”

Super Junior, as a whole, isn’t known for being one of SM Town‘s talented assests. They look good, perform well, but in k-pop, that’s the bar to entry. Except for individual members, the singing sucks and the dancing leaves much to be desired. Every once in a while, though, they surprise me.

Last year’s “Superman” and “Close Your Mouth” were two releases that I liked, and their recent side project – Donghae & Eunhyuk – is another. Apparently, the parts of SuJu are better than the whole. “OPPA, OPPA” is a neo-disco track that’s all fun. It’s bright, it’s energetic, and like any catchy pop song, its hook has dug its way into my brain like a bad virus.

Granted, Donghae and Eunhyuk can’t sing, but with Peter & One Sky from One Way (and subsequently their own side project D2O) on the writing credits, and the charmingly hilarious, Shindong-directed MV, do they really need to?

“OPPA, OPPA” is an old song in more ways than one, but you’ll find me walking in step to it on the street.

SUPER JUNIOR Donghae & Eunhyuk
“OPPA, OPPA”
Directed by Shindong ℗ S.M.Entertainment

7 thoughts on “[Review][Single] Super Junior’s Donghae & Eunhyuk – “OPPA, OPPA”

  1. OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR OPPAR

  2. “Donghae and Eunhyuk can’t sing”

    Disagree with this. Eunhyuk yes, but Donghae is like one of the only ones outside of KRY that can sing decently.

    Also… 3/5… I think you’re being really generous. The song is a mess, I think I’m getting an headache listening to it. Everything sounds so congested to me. I can’t listen to it more than once because I feel like I’m going to get a migraine from all the stupid in this song. I’d give it a 1/5 at best.

    Unless you chose to not take any of it seriously. Then sure, 3/5 it is.

    • I think it’s like. 1/5 for quality + 2/5 for “oh my goodness SM actually produced a song for super junior with MORE THAN ONE NOTE.”

  3. I think this completely underrated duet from them proves that Eunhyuk can be a talented singer…if you can focus on anything but the abs. I mean what? But seriously, this is another example of a Suju side project being better than anything I’ve heard from the group as a whole.


    (It’s the SS3 DVD version of I Wanna Love You, in case the link doesn’t work)

  4. Pingback: Month In KPOP – January « McRoth's Residence

  5. “Close your Mouth” wasn’t really Super Junior, that was “M&D.” That’s of course Heechul’s side project with Jungmo (TRAX.)

  6. i severly disagree about eunhyuk not being able to sing. true he raps more then sings but I have heard him sing and he sounds amazing. plus he is the best dancer in Super Junior!

What is your opinion?

