EDITORIALS / K-HIPHOP / K-INDIE / K-POP / REVIEWS / SPECIALS

McRoth’s 20 Best K-Pop Albums of 2012

The K-Pop music scene has seen an increase of momentum on the musical quality fronts this year, meaning K-Pop has improved. Like any other music industry, it always does and always will, and I’m glad to be here to share those better moments with you in my Best Albums of 2012 wrap up. Here’s my top 20.

Something to keep in mind: due to the fact that I’m the most pop-inclined reviewer here, this list is largely made up of K-Pop releases. Therefore, other Korean indie, rock, hip-hop, and electronica albums that may have had big moments this year won’t likely be represented here. However, please remember that that shouldn’t discredit them or their standing in the bigger picture of Korean music. This is just my list.

7 thoughts on “McRoth’s 20 Best K-Pop Albums of 2012

  1. Well if this was my list, Younha’s Supersonic would’ve been #1, and I would’ve added Kim Bo Kyung’s 1st full album to the list. But who am I to complain; I’ll give Park Jiyoon’s album a listen.

  2. Hi.. I really like your list…but i’m just curious have you review’s B1A4’s 3rd EP In The Wind… l really like to know your thoughts about the album.^^

  3. Thank you for this list. I agree with almost all of your picks though I need to listen to the top 5 when I only know about the releases by Younha and Handsome People. When Spica debuted, I was hooked, their debut EP held so much promise yet the comeback choices aren’t cutting it for me. Do you prefer B1A4’s Ignition more than their recent In the Wind? I liked the latter more which had less fillers.

    Following are some of mine top non-kpop album releases – can’t get enough of some of the stellar indie acts. I understand and respect your decision not to include non-kpop releases.

    Lucia – Decalcomanie
    Urban Zakapa – 02
    Nell – Slip Away
    Naul (Brown Eyed Soul) – Principle of My Soul
    Noel – Time For Love
    Lee Seok Hoon (SG Wannabe) – Different Hello
    Lee Seung Gi – Forest
    Ha Dong Kyun – Mark

    Thanks for all that you do.

  4. Pingback: K-Pop 2012: A Year in Amazing Debuts | McRoth's Residence

  5. Pingback: [Review] [Mini-Album] Younha – ‘Just Listen’ | McRoth's Residence

  6. Pingback: [Review] [Album] EXO – ‘XOXO (Kiss & Hug)’ | McRoth's Residence

What is your opinion?

