K-POP / REVIEWS

[Review] [EP] Henry – ‘Trap’

2013_henry_trap

written by: lolpenny
Artist and Album: Henry – ‘Trap’
Genre: Dance Pop, Idol
Release Date: June 07, 2013

Canada is full of things we just love to hate: Justin Bieber, Celine Dion, that toddler piano prodigy from Ellen, maple syrup, and of course, B-list idol Henry.

And recently, SM Entertainment has graciously let him out of his cage to remind us that he isn’t just a Super Junior backup dancer.

His solo mini album kicks things off with the R&B banger, “Trap.” And against all odds, SM has managed to produce a song that is consistent from beginning to end. Playing to Henry’s strengths as a musician in his own right,  piano forms the foundation of “Trap,” which compliments the dramatic drum and bass going on behind it. While Kyuhyun (Super Junior) and Taemin (SHINee) are featured mostly for name recognition the falsetto in the middle eight adds dimension, pulling the song tight before exploding into the climax of the chorus.

And the chorus is really the strongest part of the song. It’s catchy enough to keep up with the standout hooks of TVXQ’s “Mirotic” or SHINee’s “Lucifer.” The verses are where the song suffers because in comparison to the chorus they just fall flat, not offering enough melody to propel the song forward.

The middle of the album consists of a couple electro pop ditties that are all kick drum. Aside from the fact that they sound like B-sides from a One Direction album they’re quite enjoyable. “1-4-3 (I Love You)” contains some of SM’s only coherent English and if “Holiday” doesn’t make you want to drive around with the windows rolled down you’re listening to it wrong.

The ballad, “I Would,” wouldn’t be out of place on a Disney princess movie soundtrack, but without the dwarves and magic hair  it’s hardly captivating. It offers little as the conclusion of the album, and does anyone else think it sounds a bit like the one hit wonder “Because I am a Girl,” by Kiss?

What is most shocking about Trap is that it actually functions as a whole. It begins and ends with piano, sounds like a cohesive, if not unique pop album, and you can listen to the whole thing without skipping tracks. After some truly terrible albums over the past few years, who knew SM had it in them?

==

Scorecard

Trap
1
1-4-3 (I Love You)
.5
My Everything
.5
Ready 2 Love
.5
Points scale
0 – could do without
0.5 – mediocre/filler
0.75 – pretty good/grew on me
1 – liked immediately
Holiday
.75
I Would
.5
Total Points
3.75

Points to stars conversion: [(3.75/6) x 5] + 0.25*

3.4/5


*there is a 0.25 bonus for every album. The logic is that, if every song were “pretty good”, it’s a 4-star album.

Stay connected! Follow and like McRoth’s Residence on Twitter and Facebook!

6 thoughts on “[Review] [EP] Henry – ‘Trap’

  1. I hate Taemin: so processed. It puts me off he’s in this.

    And seriously, why? Henry is an SJ member who is actually a musician: he shouldn’t need some ghoul in human disguise to prop up his album.

    • I wasn’t as particularly disgusted by Taemin and Kyuhyun’s presence in Trap as you were (lol), though I also think they didn’t bring much to the table either. Especially Kyuhyun, who kind of just appeared near the end of the song :\

      • Throwing the ghoul & kyuhun into the mix is for their promotion, not for the song’s sake, and it’s just cheap. Not that SM will suddenly get classy or anything. ..

  2. that song, ‘I Would’, I was so familiar and can’t think of it. Now you mentioned ‘Because I’m a girl’ but I thought it was familiar because it was a collaboration with the famous pianist Yiruma. I thought I’ve heard that rhythm in one of Yiruma’s album.

    Yes, the album itself is a good album which could listen without a skip, but for a solo album from SM after 13 year isn’t amazing. I still remember the time BoA dropped her first album.

  3. Great review! Trap hands down is the best song so far in 2013 in my books. It’s incredibly catchy and unique. Henry doesn’t have the best vocals but he knows how to play to his advantage by picking the right songs and adding catchy instrumentals.
    I Would is definitely a filler song that did not fit with either Henry’s image or the album theme, I have no idea why it’s there.

  4. I didn’t so much mind KyuHyun’s little bridge thing with Henry, but I don’t like Taemin’s part in Trap. In still trying to figure out why he was stuck in there. At least Henry and KyuHyun are bandmates, but Taemin just seemed random to me.

    Guess it doesn’t help that I don’t care too much about SHINee in general. “Ring Ding Dong” and “Lucifer” are the only songs I like by them. I tried to get into their other songs, but I just couldn’t.

What is your opinion?

