K-POP / REVIEWS

[Review] [Album] Roy Kim – ‘Love Love Love’

2013_roy kim_love love love

written by: drowningn00b
Artist and Album: Roy Kim – ‘Love Love Love’
Genre: Ballad
Release Date: June 25, 2013

As the winner of Super Star K4, Roy Kim had everything going for him: the looks, the easy going charm and a soft timber that swept fans off their feet. Add to that solid guitar skills, and you can see why Dickpunks didn’t win this season. It’s a combination that worked well with his first single, “Spring Spring Spring”, but does his new record, ‘Love Love Love’ add more of the same?

With guitar on hand, Roy Kim wrote the entire record, not uncommon among singer-songwriters, but a rarity in K-Pop at large. With the first single and the title track, Roy follows a common indie sound, with pop sensibilities and pleasing melodies to ease your attention, but not making a statement. The first half of the album is much the same, without the luster of those singles. There’s an abundance of hand claps and stomping for energy, and “그대를 사랑한단 말 (Say I Love You)” leans on Kim’s falsetto for an emotional kick. The first five tracks, due to their similarities, bleed together; apart from “Love Love Love” and “Spring Spring Spring”, the other three don’t stand out much.

The other half attempts to correct that plain atmosphere, and succeeds. On the mid-tempo, “할아버지와 카메라 (Grandfather’s Camera)”, he still relies on his higher pitch, but the deeper sounds on the band’s side help create a fuller, richer melody, something missing from “Say I Love You” . The follow-up, “도통 모르겠네 (I Know Nothing At All)”, is a quite ballad with even quieter singing. The effect is a clean and dream-like soundscape where Roy Kim’s voice carries the song. There’s no climactic point in “I Know Nothing At All”, but it’s still a decent number. The riskiest song here, “나만 따라와 (Follow Me)”, is a loud, thundering pop-rock tune with fast pacing, a choir, altered vocals and Roy Kim shouting. “Shouting, did you say?” Yes, you heard right. The only time he lets go is on the shortest cut of the album, which is a shame because if it had gone on longer, “Follow Me” could have killed.

These three tracks show a great potential for the fledgling singer, something I want him to explore further, beyond his coffee-house indie aura.

==

I have no doubt that with his whole package, Roy Kim will be around for a while. He’s charming, has a nice smile and seems like a really great guy. Those qualities translate well on ‘Love Love Love’, with tracks like “Grandfather’s Camera” and “Follow Me”.

I just hope he doesn’t get stuck as a pop-indie singer because if this record is any indication, Roy Kim’s musical talent has yet to fully realize itself.

==

Scorecard

이 노랠 들어요
.5
Bom Bom Bom
.75
Say I Love You
.5
Love love Love
.75
Grandfather’s Camera
.75
I Know Nothing At All
.75
Points scale
0 – could do without
0.5 – mediocre/filler
0.75 – pretty good/grew on me
1 – liked immediately
Follow Me
.75
12 o’clock
.5
Total Points
5.25

Points to stars conversion: [(5.25/8) x 5] + 0.25*

3.5/5


*there is a 0.25 bonus for every album. The logic is that, if every song were “pretty good”, it’s a 4-star album.

Stay connected! Follow and like McRoth’s Residence on Twitter and Facebook!

7 thoughts on “[Review] [Album] Roy Kim – ‘Love Love Love’

  1. I really loved this album – the whole thing. Maybe it’s cuz I’m a total sucker for voices like Roy’s (like John Park, omg) but I enjoyed the whole thing. Though, I do agree with the fact that other than Love Love Love, Bom Bom Bom (and Follow Me imo), the rest of the songs aren’t extremely memorable but I’ll take them over any mainstream Kpop releases, if not for the music – for the sweet lyrics. But I don’t know why Roy keeps reminding me of a knock-off of Busker Busker – when I first listened to Bom Bom Bom, I thought I was watching a cover of Cherry Blossom Ending. Regardless, I’ve become a fan of his ever since cuz Busker is still in their dungeon (and he’s pretty cute, come on).

    Anyway, will you guys be reviewing John Park’s Inner Child? I wanna see what you have to say about it. ^^v

    • He is cute, damn him! And a voice like that? How can some people have all the luck?
      I did notice the connection to Busker Busker almost immediately, but I couldn’t make it fit in the review. Its interesting that both came out of Super Star K, with different styles within the show, and still managed to have similar sounds on their debut records. Don’t know what that says of their production team, or Roy Kim and Busker Busker as artists, but who knows. Like you, their music is nicer than much of k-pop, so cheers to that.
      At the moment I’m tackling a backlog taller than a mountain, but I’ll keep your request in mind. I might not get to it, but someone else might. Keep your eyes peeled.

      • Haha, I will.

        Also, with the recent controversy of Roy plagiarizing from Busker, it makes it even more suspicious…

        Oh, well, now that Roy is back to Georgetown, maybe he’ll change his style once he comes back and netizens forget about this “scandal” (though they won’t because netizens never forged :/)…But, oh well, it was good while it lasted, I guess.

        :D

  2. Roy Kim has an amazing voice, however sometimes the lyrics are slightly on the cheesy side e.g. There are some parts of “Bom Bom Bom” that remind me of my father particularly when he whistles haha.

  3. Here’s a bonus! All the songs on the album was written and composed by Roy Kim. Every single one of them were composed/written by him. He’s doing pretty great. I do agree with you though, but I think he did well on his album. ^^

What is your opinion?

